h1

Old Fashioned Bedwarmers

December 15, 2008

Forward to the good old days! I’ve discovered a most elegant solution to cold feet in bed: HOT ROCKS!!!

dec08-009a

These granite balls are a bit rare— I found them on the coast of Maine. Their combined weight is about 9 lbs. I heat them on my Empire direct vent type gas heater. Then they go at the foot of my bed, under the sheets. They keep warm for hours.  It seems like they are still warm even after 3 or 4 hours.  Pixel has discovered that she can curl up around them too. So in the middle of the night we are battling it out over who gets the rocks. She’s pretty stubborn and takes a considerable amount of shoving to get some room for my feet too.

2 comments

  1. If you can find soapstone it retains the heat even longer. I’ve heard tales about bed slippers that were made with a compartment for soapstone; helps with the competition with the cat too 🙂


  2. I wonder why soapstone retains heat longer than granite?



Leave a Reply

