h1

Hemlock Woolly Adelgid Spotted

August 24, 2009

We are on the lookout for this insect pest hitting southern, and now northern New England.  I’ve been looking at a picture on my refridgerator for a year or two, so it was not too difficult to quickly notice and identify the problem in my parent’s hemlocks over in Alton Bay, NH.

aug09 081a

Click on image for better view

It took longer to find the county forester than it did for him to arrive once contacted. Now we will be curious to see w happens. It’s the first report in Belnap county, and it may only be in 3 or 4 of their trees at this point.

There is a pretty tight control on what trees can be removed from the land within certain distances from the lake shore. And the cost is usually enormous, but perhaps under circumstances of infestation rules will flow in a different direction. And my folks have probably the highest density of trees around. We’re all tree lovers in my family; and believe me, I thought about whether I should get a carwash before driving home to VT.

Leave a Reply

