h1

New Year’s Resolutions?

January 3, 2010

If ever there is a good time to take stock and shift focus, it’s now at the end of new years weekend, while we are all blizzarded in! I’d like to relax a little more in 2010. I’m no where near ready to retire, in fact, I don’t think I would ever even want to. But like most of you all, there are things I would like to be doing more.  For example, relaxing with friends and family, painting, writing and reading; things that all seem to get pushed off the lineup too easily in a typical day.

I’ve taken steps to insure that some of these things will indeed happen in 2010: a February trip to Nicaragua to paint with a friend is fast becoming a reality. As January gets underway I am wondering what it will be like to be one of those who migrate south for a little bit of the New England winter. Will I become a regular escapee, like so many around these parts? Will I like Central America? I’ve never been south of Key West. Can I manage to do enough painting and writing to be able to whole heartedly count the trip as an independent study part of my graduate program at UVM? (answers: probably, yes, and absolutely yes!).

Leave a comment